Let me introduce you to Bailey

The hubby and I own a bunch of cats.  Now really, we’re not crazy cat people, but we each had two before we met each other, and we’re both big enough animal lovers that we would never consider giving any up just because we moved in with each other and got married.

So there’s four of them.  And until that number dwindles through the natural processes of life, we will not be getting any other animals.  And I REALLY want a puppy.  Now, my definition of a puppy is a dog, no matter what its age – 12 months or 12 years.  They’re all puppies to me.

So I keep begging the hubby to let me get a puppy, knowing that we will not be doing so for a long time.  Maybe around the time when we actually get our little homestead…

But until then, I have my Bailey.  My Bailey is the funniest kitty in the whole wide world.  He must have been a puppy in a former life.

I got Bailey at the end of my first year of law school in Colorado.  At that point, the only place in CO I had been camping was a town called Bailey, CO, so it made sense to name him after that.  I went to the Boulder Humane Society looking for a young cat.  I was a new law student and didn’t think I could handle an older cat.  Well, there wasn’t much selection at that time.  I walked through a few rooms of completely empty cages until I saw a black kitty about a year old all alone in the back.  It was love at first sight.  When I came back to pick him up a few days later, he was lounging on the front counter with the staff, sunning himself.  His name was Apollo, they told me – named after the sun god, because he LOVES the sun.

So Bailey has been my buddy for the last 8 years now, and even at 9 years old, he is a bundle of energy and troublemaker.  Some photographic evidence:

In a box

In a box

Sticking out his tongue at me

Sticking out his tongue at me

Refusing to get out of a basket on TOP of my stereo

Refusing to get out of a basket on TOP of my stereo

Taking over Penny's dog bed

Taking over Penny's dog bed

In a shopping bag

In a shopping bag

Suicidal kitty in a plastic bag of shredded paper

Suicidal kitty in a plastic bag of shredded paper

Then he decided he wanted to live, and took all the paper out of the bag to make a nest

Then he decided he wanted to live, and took all the paper out of the bag to make a nest

Playing around in a pot on the deck

Playing around in a pot on the deck

Loving a catnip fish!

Loving a catnip fish!

In my Vera Bradley bag

In my Vera Bradley bag

That's right, he put himself in the garbage bin!

That's right, he put himself in the garbage bin!

He’s T-R-O-U-B-L-E!  That’s why his name is Bailey T. LastName.

But I luff him with all my heart 🙂

And I’m telling you about him because today I came home to see my freshly potted organic cilantro on my window sill, with dirt thrown all over the sill, and PAW PRINTS in the pot.  WTF?   You KNOW it was Bailey.

2 Responses

  1. Aww Bailey is super cute! We have a cat just like him. Oskar is very mischievous and always into something, but he is also the more loving of our two cats and very dog-like in his affection/playfulness. I should have known since when we picked him from the shelter, he was climbing on the cage and meowing. DBF always tells me, “What did you expect?? You picked the only kitten being bad, of course he’s a handful!” LOL

    At least they keep things interesting, right? 🙂

  2. LOL, thx for the guilt trip. I deserved it. I’m a spaz today!

    Hi Bailey!!!

Leave a Reply

