Dinner and a Weekend

The hubby is off at the garden right now, while I’m on strike because my feet hurt after wearing heels all day.  It’s been rather warm the last two days and tomorrow it’s supposed to be almost 90F (!!!) so it really needs to be watered.

That roast we made on Sunday was so huge (4lbs) that we’ve been eating it all week.  Tonight we had roast beef sandwiches for dinner.  The bread we bought from Our Daily Bread at the farmer’s market this weekend was so delicious we ate it all up.  I had bought hummus at Trader Joe’s in Cambridge, MA last week and boy, I wish we lived closer than 3 hours to one – I’d go shopping there all the time!  So I ate a lot of the bread with the hummus.  As a result, we went window shopping at our local camera place, Stuyvesant Photo – because we are *this* close to buying a DSLR, but we are hoarding our money until my surgery is over.  Otherwise, it would have been bought long ago! We stopped into Bountiful Bread and picked up this beauty:DSCN2312

Yummo.

When I got home, I sliced up a couple of pieces of the baguette, lightly buttered with some yogurt butter, and popped them in the oven on one of my awesome Fiestaware plates (those things are the best) to toast.  A few minutes later, I sliced a thin piece of roast beef onto the toasted bread, put some bleu cheese crumbles on top, and put it back in the broiler to heat up and melt.  I finished with a handful of fresh spinach we bought at the farmer’s market and a drizzle of A-1 – because I am an A-1 WHORE! 🙂  So delicious.

100% local

Roast Beef sandwich

If not for the bleu cheese crumbles, that baby would be 100% local- between the meat, the spinach, and the bread.  We’ll have to keep a look out for bleu cheese at the market…

Just think, next week – I could probably make this sandwich with my own baby spinach! Wahoo!

In other news, the hubster and I have been trying to think of a trip to take this weekend, as there no other open weekends before my surgery 😦  We’ve been thinking we’re just going to take our 4th of July camping trip to Forked Lake (pronounced Fork-id, btw 🙂 ) early instead.  We’d been planning it all year, and now life is interfering, but why let that stop us?  The only thing is that it’s black fly season in the Adirondacks, and that is the worst part of the year up there.  Imagine hundreds, no, thousands of gnats buzzing around your head, your arms, any part of your body not covered by clothes.  You need a mosquito net headgear just to breathe.  Then imagine those gnats are as big as flies, and they bite.  And those bites HURT.  That’s black fly season for you.

It’s so hard to know when the season begins or ends though.  On the 4th of July weekend two years ago, we went camping up at Cranberry Lake, thinking the season was over,  and actually ended up heading home after one night because we couldn’t take it anymore.  But last year, up at Forked Lake, the whole weekend was beautiful.  I’m hoping that they might not have hatched yet, but it has been a really nice spring so far, so I guess we’ll see.

Forked Lake is my favorite campsite in the Adirondacks.  You need to canoe or kayak to your campsite, there are bear lockers provided, and it’s just very peaceful.  We had a blast last year.

DSCN1250 2

DSCN1288 2

DSCN1301

We canoed around the lake, watched fireworks over in Long Lake, and hiked up Blue Mountain.

K and I in front of the fire tower on top of Blue Lake Mountain

K and I in front of the fire tower on top of Blue Mountain

View from the top of Blue Lake Mountain

View from the top of Blue Mountain

Gorgeous!

Ok, I’ve talked myself into it. I wanna go camping 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Wow, those photos from your camping trip are amazing! I’m not sure I could brave the bugs you described, but I can definitely see the appeal 🙂

  2. so here’s a random question. i just started on building a 12 place fiestaware set with serving pieces also and i am so overwhelmed by the variety of serving pieces. which ones do you have that you like best?

  3. Ohh…I’m not a good person to ask. I have exactly 0 serving pieces so far! The only thing that overwhelms me re: Fiestaware are the colors – I want them all!

  4. […] the meantime though, we were able to get away for the July 4th holiday, going camping for our second time at Forked Lake, this time with friends.  This is truly our favorite place to go camping, and is getting more and […]

  5. […] the meantime though, we were able to get away for the July 4th holiday, going camping for our second time at Forked Lake, this time with friends.  This is truly our favorite place to go camping, and is getting more and […]

Leave a Reply

