A Garden in July

Today has been kind of crappy.  I could barely drag myself out of bed until around noon, because I felt so poorly 😦 I tried to survive on 500mg of Tylenol this morning, but it wasn’t until I took 400mg MORE of Advil that I felt good enough to move.  So sad.

I wanted to share a pic of my dinner from yesterday. I had a breaded chicken cutlet with grilled zucchini.  Nearly the whole thing was local, with the exception of the olive oil and the breadcrumbs.

IMG_0448

The eggs used to coat the chicken with breadcrumbs AND the chicken cutlets themselves came from the same farm 🙂 The zucchini was from our garden! The entire meal was delish.  Normally I would probably have a starch with this, but I haven’t been eating as much lately.

After dinner we went to the garden because it desperately needed to be watered…we’ve actually gone 3 days with rain! First time all summer I think.

Corn

Corn

The corn isn’t looking very green 😦

Green bean plants

Green bean plants

Look at the baby green bean in the picture below!

Baby green bean

Baby green bean

Gorgeous looking pepper

Gorgeous looking pepper

I’m guessing this is one of our Cubanelle peppers.  Doesn’t look like a jalapeño to me 🙂

Carrots

Carrots

Aww, look at my husbands lovely white feet.  And the beautiful carrot tops we have 🙂

Golden Chard

Golden Chard

The chard is not looking so good 😦

Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts look to be doing well though. I still don’t see any of the stalks growing though.

Sugarsnap peas

Sugarsnap peas

Here is the MESS of sugar snap peas that I tried to stake but failed miserably at. Hopefully I can get it looking better this weekend.

Close up

Close up

Here’s a close up of the sugarsnap peas. I’m fascinated with these (and the green beans) because I never knew how they grew before.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Can’t wait for all the tomatoes from these plants!

Close up

Close up

Look at that beautiful green tomato! I am hoping to get many many pounds to make tomato sauce AND salsa this fall!

IMG_0467

The zucchini plants aren’t looking too hot. We got about 12 zucchini in one week a few weeks back and not much since. But K says they will continue to reproduce through the summer. Hope so!

Zucchini

Zucchini

There’s a zucchini hiding in there!

And finally, here’s a picture of the formerly neat lettuce beds. They’ve gone to seed and we’ve let them go wild.  We need to turn them over and replant for the fall, since lettuce don’t do well in the heat of the summer.

IMG_0469

Things are looking pretty good I think.  I just want the tomatoes to turn out ok.

3 Responses

  1. Until planting green beans, I didn’t know how they grew either.

  2. Around here we have a saying about corn — it must be knee high by the fourth of July. I hope yours gets going soon!

  3. Remember corn, much like Midwesterners, are a hardy crop. (that might not actually be true I grew up in a corn town not on a corn farm…but the part about Midwesterners is completely true)

Leave a Reply

