Bountiful Blueberries

How delish does this look?

IMG_0523

Ok, besides the fact that my husband put more than a healthy-sized pat of butter on, these were great!  K and I went blueberry picking on Saturday, which was rough on me, but I’m really trying to push myself here.  Sunday morning, he whipped up a batch of homemade blueberry pancakes with the freshest berries, buttermilk I made from making butter last week (from local cream!), eggs from the local farm, and of course, my butter! We topped them off with the local maple syrup we bought during sugaring season last March and chowed down.  Not the healthiest meal ever, but it was great!

Just before Indian Ladder closed on Saturday we headed over to pick the berries.  We wanted to get raspberries too, but due to all the rain we have there are slim pickins’.  This is the second year in a row Indian Ladder hasn’t had a good raspberry crop.  (I did pick one huge one off the bush/vine/whatever you call it and it was AWESOME.  IMG_0518

The blueberries on the edges of the field were perfectly sweet – no sourness to them at all.  I admit I’m not a huge blueberry fan (any red berry I love!) but I did my fair share of eating.  For the most part though, I just stood there, holding out the quart bucket for K to dump picked blueberries into – it was too hard for me to pick – even though blueberries are the easiest ones to pick IMHO – they’re right at the perfect level for me.

Mixture of ripe and unripe blueberries

Mixture of ripe and unripe blueberries

Other blueberries even closer up

Other blueberries even closer up

View of the Helderberg Escarpment from the blueberry field

View of the Helderberg Escarpment from the blueberry field

This view makes me so serene. I love picking berries here. Last night, I just stood in the field, inhaled the fresh air, and listened to the quietness of it all.

One Response

  1. Oooo yummy! I want to go pick some fruit soon. Hunni and I are so busy the next two weekends but hopefully we can find time to do so. I’m jealous of all the fresh stuff you get. I love living vicariously through you.

Leave a Reply

