Zucchini Bread

I’ve had a tough time this week (still with the left sided chest pain that hurts like a mutha-) so I haven’t been blogging.  The other part is that due to said pain, I haven’t been doing anything blogworthy to mention.

Well today I woke up bound and determined to get out of the “rut” I’m in.  I thought I would make zucchini bread for breakfast since we have a bunch of zucchinis from the garden.  I was a little afraid the grating of zucchini would hurt, but it wasn’t bad at all.  (Seriously, my BONES are healing just fine, it’s the breathing deep part that’s the problem. And I’m trying to compensate by short, shallow breaths instead).  The zucchini was a little more watery than I’m used to zucchini being (maybe because it’s fresh out of the garden?) and I couldn’t find an 8×4 loaf pan in the kitchen.  Sure, we have a 10×5, we have a 7×3, but no 8×4.  So I took the Pyrex glass loaf pan (7×3? I don’t know) and poured the batter in. There was more batter than dish, but I just filled it to the top because I wasn’t sure if I should leave room or not.

Answer: Yes, I should.  Seriously, why do I try baking? Half the time I follow the recipe wrong, or mess it up somehow.  It started overflowing the glass dish and making a big messy puddle on the bottom of the oven.  By that point, all my resolve in trying to get out of my “rut” was wearing off, as my pain was just getting worse and worse.  I turned off the oven in mid-bake, got a spoon, and finished the rest of the batter off as breakfast instead.  Having that in me, I popped 4 more ibuprofen (I figured that qualified as food, right?) and called it a morning, crawling back into bed.

Hubby found me at noon, having come home for lunch, and very nicely decided to attempt to keep baking the loaf to see if he could get it to come out decently.  And, after 1 1/2 hours total baking, it did, though it doesn’t look pretty.  That’s the last time I try to cook anything until I’m feeling 100%.

But it tastes just fine, though a little more sugary than I would prefer (and that’s saying something as I luff me some sugar).

K keeps coming up with ideas “to keep busy,” but I’m just not feeling it.  We were supposed to can the blueberries last weekend, yet they are still sitting on the refrigerator shelf, getting more overripe by the day 😦

I’m having a tough time.

4 Responses

  1. (((Chelle))) I’ve been thinking about you! Tons of T&Ps that you feel better soon!

  2. <> You know you’re in my thoughts often. I hope that your Dr’s can get to the bottom of your lung pain and you come out of your funk.

  3. ((((Chelle))))) Sorry you are still having a hard time. I would love to come have some of that zucchini bread 🙂

    I’m praying for you and hope the docs quickly figure out how to get all of you better.

  4. I hope you feel better soon, Chelle!

Leave a Reply

