The Dinner Wait

Yesterday afternoon, the hubby and I headed downstate to go out with my inlaws for my FIL’s b-day.  I enjoy going out with his (mine, now) family – always good conversations and I get to try out restaurants I would otherwise never get to.  Usually, it’s a fun time – the birthday girl or boy picks out their restaurant well ahead of time (or at least by the time we get in our car to go down), but it’s rarely chaotic.

Well, yesterday was crazy.  No one could decide on anything.  So frustrating. With the number of restaurant names we offered up, I was reminded of the Genesis verses that go like this:

10And Enos lived after he begat Cainan eight hundred and fifteen years, and begat sons and daughters:..

12And Cainan lived seventy years and begat Mahalaleel:

15And Mahalaleel lived sixty and five years, and begat Jared:

18And Jared lived an hundred sixty and two years, and he begat Enoch:

21And Enoch lived sixty and five years, and begat Methuselah:…etc

It started off that we were going to a restaurant called Heidelberg in Manhattan, as decided earlier in the week.  I was a little confused by the choice, as MIL is actually from Germany and I’m pretty sure if FIL wanted, she could make him anything they had on their menu (and probably make it better).

The menu wasn’t altogether appetizing to me either, but hey, not my birthday.  Marinated herring, headcheese (oh blecch, I remember reading about that in the Little House on the Prairie books), marinated beef tongue salad…yea, ok.

So when they decided they weren’t going there, I was ok with that.  However, by the time we got in our car to head downstate, I began to get concerned, because they kept asking for more and more suggestions.  They wanted some place with a view of the water.  Harvest on Hudson in Hastings begat Half Moon in Dobbs Ferry which begat Sunset Cove, that begat Striped Bass, and then begat Ebb Tide  (can you see a seafood theme here?) were all looked at, decided upon, then changed.  Then it was Olive Garden.  Olive Garden????  Then it was decided to go down to City Island to find a great seafood place down there.  Ok, fine.  At this point it is 7pm and I am A) starving B) tired C) not in the best mood.  We get on the Hutch, of course hit tons o’ traffic (has anyone ever not hit traffic on the Hutchinson Pkwy?) and get stuck halfway to City Island.  FIL decides no City Island.  Oh helllllll no.  They decide to go back to White Plains to hit up Cheesecake Factory.  Come on!!!  K talks to them (well, it wasn’t as nice as “talking 🙂 ) and they decide to go Arthur Avenue for dinner.

On Arthur Avenue

On Arthur Avenue

By this point it’s 8pm.  And we arrive at Pasquale’s Rigoletto.  They tell us they’re booked for the night.  Good Lord, I’m never going to get to eat again.  FIL thanks them, and we turn to leave and the maitre’d apparently gets a look at us girls and tells us we can have a table in 20 minutes.  FIL tells us it was because the guys were so dressed down (shorts and polos for all of them) but that when they saw us in our dresses they changed their mind.  Yay!  So we go to sit at the bar and order some drinks.  $23 for 2 martinis and a Coke.  Oh, love city prices.

Half an hour later, we are still sitting there, and Laiara and I are dying.  Just as we’re about to leave, the owner comes by and starts talking to us, then starts ordering the bartender to give us free drinks.  6 martinis, a beer, and a plate of bruschetta later, we are all feeling much happier!  Finally we get our table, and our food.  Success!

Some parmigiano reggiano and bruschetta

Some parmigiano reggiano and bruschetta

Cold seafood salad

Cold seafood salad

MIL enjoying her meal: softshell crab

MIL enjoying her meal: softshell crab

My meal (but enough for 4 meals): Linguine with calamari

My meal (but enough for 4 meals): Linguine with calamari

Tartufo!

Tartufo!

2 Responses

  1. I don’t think I could have lasted that long. Someone would have had to feed me or I would have started to eat my own arm.

    Glad you finally got a good dinner and some free drinks out of it. 🙂

  2. LOL @ all the begatting!

    I get so grumpy when I am hungry. I think the linguine looks AWESOME as does the bruschetta.

Leave a Reply

