News article: So You Think You Can Farm?

I think I’m going to start posting articles related to this blog that interest me again. I did it in the beginning, but kind of gave up, but I think it would be nice to be able to go back at a later point and look at articles that interested me in the past.

Not sure whether to post them on my blog or on a separate page though.  I like the separate wordpress pages, but I just have to keep adding each article to the bottom of the page – I can’t do separate entries like I can here.  So, I’ll have to think about it…

In the meantime, I read this article last weekend and found it really interesting! When I was little, I loved The Oregon Trail and always wished I lived in the 1800s so Icould get in a covered wagon and be a settler.  This article makes me think about whether I’d be able to leave my home right now in 2009 and move to Iowa and start a farm.  I’m not sure I could!

Accountant, dentist, lawyer: future farmers?

Program partners aspiring farmers with aging pros to preserve way of life

updated 3:02 p.m. ET, Sat., Aug 15, 2009

RICHLAND, Iowa – He quit his job and drove his wife and their four young daughters across country, a 21st-century pioneer lured to these faraway farm fields by the promise of a life-changing deal with an older stranger.

Isaac Phillips always wanted to be a farmer. But some friends as well as colleagues at the Utah jail where he supervised inmate work crews were leery, telling him: a) don’t give up a steady job, b) you’re making a big mistake and c) it’s a crazy idea….

Read the rest at:   http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/32428465/ns/us_news-life/

Leave a Reply

