Successes in Gardening

Our garden, finally looking more in order

Our garden, finally looking more in order

Today’s post is going to be full of garden successes, since yesterday’s was such a downer.  In reality, we’ve had much more success than failure in our garden this year, which is great considering we (ok, I) didn’t know what we were doing.  But for our successes, I think we had:

  • Lettuce. Black-seeded Simpson, Amish Deer Tongue, Salad Bowl, and the pilfered Red Lettuce – it was all prolific this year!  We had three small beds dedicated to the different kinds and we got way more than we thought we would. We couldn’t even eat it all and it went to seed, which we need to collect and save for next year. Next year we’ll definitely be cutting down on the amount of space dedicated to lettuce.
  • Onions. We got the free seedlings from Jenny (44 of them!) and pulled in quite a crop.  I spent last night braiding them after curing them for 2 weeks.  We’ve already used a few in our meals the last couple of weeks and they are delicious!
  • Tomatoes. Despite the tomato blight that hit much of the eastern seaboard, we came through unscathed.  With 12 tomato plants this year, we garnered approximately 45 lbs of tomatoes! With it, we’ve cooked with them, made canned salsa, canned tomato sauce (really, a post on this is coming soon, I promise), and canned tomato paste (1 can, lol).  I still have a handful more that I picked this week, but we’re nearing the end of our tomato harvest.
  • Sugarsnap Peas. These were prolific as well.  We ate a lot, but left even more on the vine because they came ripe in the middle of my recuperation from surgery.  Next year we’ll dedicate more space to growing them, because they were planted haphazardly this year.
  • Peppers. We got some nice frying peppers out our Cubanelles this year and enjoyed making stirfrys with them.  I think we could use a whole bed dedicated to peppers – maybe we’ll give one of the lettuce beds to them 🙂
  • Brussels Sprouts. Not sure how these will fare yet. But we planted 9 plants and they all grew. We should probably thin them, but K wants to hold off.  If they all grow sprouts, I will have more brussels sprouts than I ever wanted.  It’s like a kid’s nightmare come true!

At the garden on Sunday afternoon, I decided to walk around everyone’s plots and took some pictures of some of the abundant produce that people were growing. I hope you enjoy seeing other peoples’ successes!

Doesn't this make you think of a Cabbage Patch Kid?

Doesn't this make you think of a Cabbage Patch Kid?

If you look carefully, you can see beets poking out of the ground

If you look carefully, you can see beets poking out of the ground

Cauliflower

Cauliflower

This is broccoli (with only a few florets left)

This is broccoli (with only a few florets left)

Ruby Red Chard

Ruby Red Chard

Cherry Tomatoes

Plum Tomatoes

Green Peppers

Green Peppers

Red Pepper

Red Pepper

I have no idea what this is, but I love the lavender stems!

I have no idea what this is, but I love the lavender stems!

Sunflower close up

Sunflower close up

Lots of smaller sunflowers

Lots of smaller sunflowers

Sunflowers everywhere!

Sunflowers everywhere!

6 Responses

  1. WOW! You’ve had some major garden successes. I’m very jealous actually, and proud that you did so well your 1st try!

    I love your 101 things list. Is there a widget you used to install that??

    • I just put a numbered list in the text widget. The look of the list seems to change depending on what theme you have.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I was thinking about posting all of my successes and failures, too, so I remember for next year.
    This is a really great blog!

  3. I love how much success you had despite not knowing what you were doing. Makes me want to try it next year if we don’t move. 🙂

  4. I’ve loved watching your garden this season.One word for next season. asparagus. You need it!

Leave a Reply

