Farmer’s Market Sunday

I feel like I’ve been away from my blog FOREVER, yet it’s only been a few days.  Still trying to get back to normal after my cath this past week, and not really feeling like writing.  Still, I got my butt to the farmer’s market today and we got lots of stuff for the week.  Except they were all out of mozzarella today.  We need more than one mozzarella maker at this market!  She often doesn’t have what we want.

Booty from this week

Booty from this week

  • 1/2 gallon reduced-fat milk and one pint of heavy cream from Battenkill Creamery
  • 1 dozen eggs and 1lb bulk chicken sausage from Coopers Ark Farm
  • 1 loaf whole wheat bread from Our Daily Bread
  • 1 round eggplant, 2 spaghetti squash, and 2 ears of corn from Barber Farm
  • 1/2 peck of Bartlett pears (not all pictured here) and 1 pint of plum tomatoes (with some red zebras thrown in) from Maynard Farm

Why did we buy more tomatoes after growing so many ourselves this year?  K has decided he wants to make more tomato sauce for the spaghetti squash to have truly local meals this week. Plus, we ended up with SO many green zebras this year, and barely any brandywines – the juicy red tomatoes just called to me.

Juicy red tomatoes

Juicy red tomatoes

I also have been reading this blog called Little City Farm and it gives recipes occasionally for 100-mile desserts.  The latest one is for Pear Upside-Down cake and if I can only find local flour, I could make it from entirely local ingredients. I just did some searching and it looks like Honest Weight carries some from Champlain Valley Milling, so I might just have it all! I love that you can use local honey or maple syrup in these recipes – because they are certainly plentiful here!

One Response

  1. I thought of you this weekend when I was searching out a Farmer’s Market near Gettysburg. They were all closed by the time we got there though. 😦

Leave a Reply

