Granola Bars

So there’s millet and then there’s puffed millet.

In the background is the former, and on the spoon, obviously, is puffed millet.

This, however, I did not learn until the other day.  That other day being the day after I made Allison’s amazing Great Scott! Granola Bars.

These were really easy to make. The hardest part for me was finding the ingredients to make these wonderful homemade bars.

Great Scott! Granola Bars
by: EatCleanLiveGreen.com

 

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C brown rice syrup
  • 1/4 C natural peanut butter
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 1 C puffed millet
  • 1/4 C ground flax meal
  • 1/4 C hemp seeds
  • 1/4 C sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 C unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar

IMG_0799

Directions:

  1. Heat the brown rice syrup, peanut butter, vanilla + sugar on the stove (med-low) until it starts to simmer.
  2. Combine remaining ingredients in a medium bowl
  3. Turn off heat and pour peanut butter mixture over remaining ingredients. Mix well.
  4. Pour into a baking dish lined with wax or parchment paper
  5. Wet your hands and pat down to get the surface totally smooth without sticky hands.
  6. Chill in fridge for 30 minutes.
  7. Cut into bars. (Tip: use a pizza cutter!)

IMG_0801

I was able to make 12 bars out of this, so according to Allison’s calculations – that’s 185 calories per bar.  And boy are they filling!

Thank God for my co-op.  Let me tell you, without this awesome place I’d never find half of the natural things I use in every day life now. Citric acid?  Check.  Brown rice syrup?  Yup.  Hemp seeds? Try asking your conventional grocery store for those and see the blank looks you get! 🙂

However, I thought regular millet was puffed millet and made my mistake there.  It made my granola bars a little softer than I would like, which makes sense since regular millet is a lot smaller = less surface area = more rice syrup per square inch.

Still, I’m eating these guys.  They are delicious! And hubby commented (unsolicited, I might add) how full they kept him the whole morning.  I’m now on the search for puffed millet next time I’m at the co-op to re-make them again!

Thanks Eat Clean Live Green!

IMG_0810

3 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you liked them! 🙂 They are so filling!

    I actually found puffed millet at my grocery store, it’s one of those bulk bags from Nature’s Path. It was in the organic/health food aisle.

    But I totally agree, some of the natural things I buy are so hard to find (hemp seeds in particular!)

  2. Yum-my! Those look great.

  3. I can’t get over how much they look like birdseed, but I am curious to make them anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

