Quasi-Apple Picking

IMG_0865Re-capping part of my weekend, a bunch of friends and the two of us went “apple picking” at Indian Ladder farm.  I’ve said before that I love this place.  It’s now run by a 5th generation of the Ten Eyck family and is more than 300 acres.

I’ve been apple and pumpking picking there since I moved to this area, gulp! 6 years ago now, but what keeps me coming back in addition to the fruits and market are the cider donuts and apple cider.  What’s apple picking without them?

But I have “apple picking” in quotes because we all wussed out this weekend.  We ended up getting on line for the cider donuts and cider, and it took 45 minutes to get to the front!! After that, we were in no mood to pick, so K and I ended up buying two half pecks of apples – Macoun and Gala to get started on apple pies.  Not that we ended up doing anything with them this weekend anyways, but one thing that’s great about apples is they last almost all winter if you keep them in a cool, dark place.

We might go apple picking again in a few weeks, because I have a lot of plans for apples this fall!  Apple sauce, apple butter, and I really want to can apple pie filling.  I read that it takes 2 quarts of apple pie filling for one 9.5 inch pie, so I need to can a lot! Seems like that’ll be great presents as well!

Who wants to go on a hay ride?

Who wants to go on a hay ride?

Look at the size of that massive Clydesdale!

Look at the size of that massive Clydesdale!

The big barn at Indian Ladder

The big barn at Indian Ladder

Kris, me and Am posing in the distance on the line that took forever

Kris, me and Am posing in the distance on the line that took forever

Time to make the cider donuts!

Time to make the cider donuts!

3 Responses

  1. Cider donuts! Yum! I was super disapointed this weekend when the orchard we went to didn’t have them!

  2. […] met up at Indian Ladder, which, as you must know by now, is one of my favorite places, considering the amount of times I have gone apple picking there.  I mean, how can you not love a […]

  3. […] met up at Indian Ladder, which, as you must know by now, is one of my favorite places, considering the amount of times I have gone apple picking there.  I mean, how can you not love a […]

Leave a Reply

