My Day

It’s my birthday!

I have no pictures from my lovely birthday dinner tonight with my husband and friends, but I’m posting anyway to talk about…life.

I can’t help it, I’ve turned into that old, married lady, whose birthday makes her think and wonder about her purpose in life.

What is yours?  How do you decide?  I can’t figure out what mine is, even though I think about it ALL the time.   And I don’t know so much about purpose, but rather about being satisfied.  About being ok, when the time comes, with what you’ve done and more with what you HAVEN’T done.

There’s so much I want to do, I couldn’t possibly fit it all into one lifetime. I’ve done a lot. I’ve lived in multiple countries, multiple states, but I’d still love to live in more and I can’t really get to everywhere I’d love to live and have some semblance of a normal life (which I also want).  I’ve backpacked Europe, driven cross-country, gotten questioned by police in Budapest (oh now that’s a story ;)).  I would love to travel more, but I don’t have the money, and I need to work in order to have that money, which means I don’t have much time to travel.  Plus I want a family (in the traditional sense of the word, aka kids) which will also put much of a damper on that time and money thing. 😉

I once made a list of every place I want to visit before I die, and it depressed me because I can’t possibly get to everywhere.  And really, at the end of it all, am I going to be thinking, “Damn, I didn’t get to Morocco, what a waste.” ??? I doubt it.

So clearly, it’s not traveling.  I don’t think it’s work, because I love life outside of work so much I will never have to worry about being called a workaholic. 😉  I do enjoy what I do though, and want to be known as a “go-to person” but I don’t want it to be my life.

So I keep thinking about it, and thinking about it, and worried that I’ll never figure it out.

Hopefully I will one day, but today is not that day.  Today (or the next 2.5 hours anyway) is my day, and I’m pretty satisfied with how today turned out. 🙂

3 Responses

  1. I hear you on wanting to do things and travel and all of it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed your Birthday and know that God has a plan for you even if you don’t know it yet.

  2. Happy Birthday!

    I don’t think I’ll ever be called a workaholic either 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday friend!

Leave a Reply

