Shopping for Veggies

I hadn’t been to the garden in two weeks, and it’s supposed to be rainy/snowy all day tomorrow, so hubby and I went out there today to get some veggies for the coming week.  I was also interested to see how our spinach had fared, considering it’s so tiny right now.

The garlic, as K told me the other day, is looking good! It’s kind of hard to see here, but the garlic cloves we planted have sprouted.

Garlic

Garlic

We put more hay between the sprouted garlic to protect it from the weather.  Soon enough, it’ll be buried by the snow but will be ready to grow next Spring!

Our spinach still looks really good, I was surprised! Considering how tiny it is, I’m not sure how it’s made it through a couple days of frost so far.

IMG_0920

Hard to see

Spinach close up

Spinach close up

This is what we’re building the coldframe for.  If it’s finished in time.  Otherwise, we’ll use it next spring. 🙂

I checked out the brussels sprouts.  I’m not sure about them.  We probably should have thinned them out even more earlier in the year.

There are about 9 plants here, even though it just looks like one huge bushy plant.

IMG_0916

Here’s one individual plant.

IMG_0917

As you can see in the plant, it doesn’t have much in the way of brussel sprouts! In fact, only one of our plants does.

IMG_0914

And I think those should be bigger than they are.  Oh well, lesson learned, don’t plant so many next year, or if we do, THIN THEM OUT!

We’ll see how long they can grow for; hopefully they’ll have enough time to get larger.

Golden chard

Golden chard

Our chard started looking much better once the heat of the summer ended! Unfortunately, it’s only about 1/2 as big as some of the other plots in our garden.  Oh well.  We realized in September that our soil is really sandy and crappy compared to some of the other plots. It’s probably because they’ve been using their plots for years and building up their soil quality, whereas ours was used/abandoned/used/abandoned for years, and no one really cared about it. Hopefully next year it will be a bit better!

So, we went “shopping” for veggies in our garden today, and cut most of the usable chard and cauliflower (blechh) and pulled some more carrots. We’ll sauté the chard like spinach, and will try to make those cauliflowr into that fake “mashed potatoes” I’ve heard so much about.  I HATE cauliflower normally, but am wiling to give it a shot in mashed potato form.

Chard in the back, cauliflower in front

Chard in the back, cauliflower in front

Look at this huge one!

IMG_0923

What's up, doc?

This, ladies and gentleman, is why you thin out your plants.  This one was in a row all by itself, instead of crowded with lots of other carrots.  A lot of ours were the size of a finger tip, some have been as long as our fingers, and then there’s this mammoth one!

And then, there’s this behemoth.

IMG_0922

Curly parsley is a biennial, but we don’t really need it to go to seed next year, so I picked 95% of this plant today. What am I going to do with all of it?   I got a shopping bag full!

IMG_0925

IMG_0924

I had no idea when we planted our 2 little plants this spring it would turn into all of this.  I’m going to dry some, and going to chop some up and freeze it as well. I’m also going to make a paste with olive oil too.  I still have no idea how I’m going to use all of this but I DON’T want it to go to waste!

If you have any ideas, let me know!

2 Responses

  1. Tabouleh! Traditional Tabouleh is mostly just chopped parsley with a little bulgar. You can use ton’s of parsley that way, make a big batch and keep it in the fridge you will have lunches for a week. Yum, yum!

  2. Chop or purree it with some olive oil. The place in ice cube trays to freeze. Then you can store it in ziplock bags to use in future recipes. They sell expensive stuff just like this in high end groceries.

    Let us know how your fake potatoes turn out. I hate cauliflower with a passion and I’m super scared to try the “fake potato” thing. If you like it I might try it.

Leave a Reply

