Last Outdoor Market of the Season

I didn’t feel that good this morning, but the shopping must be done, so hubby and I made our way to City Hall for the last outdoor Greenmarket of the season. Starting next Sunday, it will have been one year since the Greenmarket started, and it will be indoors until Spring.

Our loot from today:

IMG_0955

  • 1 dozen jumbo eggs (these babies are huge!) and 1lb chicken cutlets from Coopers Ark Farm
  • 1 bottle of Salmagundi wine (rose) from Hudson-Chatham Winery
  • 1/2 gallon reduced-fat milk from Battenkill Creamery
  • 2 loaves Rustic Italian bread from Our Daily Bread
  • 1 Italian frying pepper

It was really 1/2 a bottle of Salmagundi, because it was on a sale, but only the tasting bottle was left, which we bought for a discounted price. 🙂 Because, really, I’m the one who’s gonna drink it, not K, and I really don’t need to drink a whole bottle.  It’s pretty good, light and very smooth, but I can’t figure out what the name is for, and the label doesn’t give any clues.  The best I can find is that salmagundi means sort of a hodge-podge of things, which might be what’s in the wine?

We also ended up getting jumbo eggs for the price of large ones, which is kinda cool. Although, honestly, to me, an egg is an egg, I use the same number no matter how big they are.  They are pretty hefty though! And Phil, owner of Coopers Ark also ended up bringing a couple of young emus that they keep at the farm (and sell their eggs at the market). We never buy one, it’s $15, and even though 1 emu egg is the equivalent of a dozen chicken eggs (!!!) chicken eggs are only $3/dozen. 😉

IMG_0944

IMG_0943

IMG_0947

IMG_0949

IMG_0952

I’ve seen lots of scary pics of emus, but these were as friendly as could be. There were no signs saying to be careful, and I saw plenty of kids sticking their hands all over the birds without a problem.

We are only in town three days this week, so we’re making more pizza, breaded chicken cutlets, and clam sauce with linguine. Obviously the clams are not local, heh.  Oh…I love seafood too much to give it up!

2 Responses

  1. I would be super interested in try an emu egg but I’m not willing to pay that price. But I do know the meat is good. I had that once.

  2. […] from our pal Phil Metzger over at Coopers Ark and they’re quite entertaining.  He has emus (that I posted about last year in the summer market) that he’s been waiting for eggs from all winter, I think. I really don’t know about […]

Leave a Reply

