Farmers Market Sunday

I FINALLY got the nerve to take pictures of the vendors at the farmer’s market.  I know, what’s the big deal? But I’ve been nervous.  But yesterday I wanted to capture the essence of the winter market so I took plenty of pictures. 🙂

First though, our shopping successes from yesterday. We’re not going to be here next weekend so we ended up buying twice as much milk/bread/meat as normal.  And then there was the turkey!

IMG_1044

  • 2 1/2-gallons of reduced-fat milk, 1 pint of chocolate milk and 1 quart of chocolate ice cream from Battenkill Creamery
  • 1/2 gallon of apple cider from Migliorelli Farm
  • 2 loaves of french peasant bread from Our Daily Bread
  • 1 loaf of blueberry/ricotta bread from Naga Bakehouse
  • 1lb frozen ground beef, 1lb stew beef from Sweet Tree Farm
  • 1 dozen eggs, one 23lb fresh turkey (!!!) from Coopers Ark Farm

Yay! We got a call from Phil Metzger on Saturday, telling us our turkey had been slaughtered and processed on Thursday and would be ready to pick up at the market on Sunday.  Now…that was the 8th of November, and Thanksgiving isn’t until the 26th, so I was really disappointed our fresh turkey was going to have to be frozen, since it wouldn’t last until then.  But Phil explained to us that the USDA processing plants want to let the “big guys” (cough – agri-industry) do their turkeys closer to Thanksgiving, so he has to do his farther away.  Oh well, I’m still sure it will be delicious.

Battenkill brought ice cream for the first time this week! We were so excited to try it, because we LOVE their milk and cream.  Since I adore their chocolate milk, I figured we couldn’t go wrong with chocolate ice cream.  Seth lets us purchase our items when we first arrive (because they sell out quickly) but he keeps it for us in his coolers while we do the rest of our shopping.  We had only purchased a pint of chocolate ice cream, but when we came back to pick everything up he only had quarts left so we got a quart for the cost of a pint! Sweet! (and oh no, because I only wanted a pint to split with K to keep myself in check).

We tried a new vendor, Naga Bakehouse today, and had split opinions.  We bought a loaf of blueberry/ricotta bread which I thought was to-die for but K didn’t appreciate at all.  They use natural leavening and bake with a wood-fired stove.

IMG_1046

It was so yummy, in my opinion, but K thought the outside tasted a bit like onions, since everything is baked in the same oven.  Nah, I didn’t think so. Either way, more for me! I got to bring the rest for breakfast this morning.

Ok, I lied, I have to run so I will put up pics from the market tomorrow.  I’ll leave you with our dinner list for this week.

Sunday – Bacalao (made with salted cod bought at the local deli last week), broccoli

Monday – Indian Mushroom Curry (made with local mushrooms bought at the co-op)

Tuesday – Pizza made with homemade dough, tomato sauce, mushrooms, broccoli

Wednesday – Cheese omelets with mushrooms, broccoli

Thursday – Beef Korma with carrots

Friday – Eat out

3 Responses

  1. Wood firing just makes things taste better in my opinion. Our favorite pizza place uses a wood fire oven and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Can’t wait to see the pics from the indoor farmer’s market. It intrigues me.

  2. […] name, but I didn’t get to ask the vendor.  This was our second time trying them after the blueberry/ricotta bread we got in November that K didn’t really like.  But he wanted to try them again.  He liked the apple bread much […]

  3. […] name, but I didn’t get to ask the vendor.  This was our second time trying them after the blueberry/ricotta bread we got in November that K didn’t really like.  But he wanted to try them again.  He liked the apple bread much […]

Leave a Reply

