Thanksgiving 2009

Our first time hosting Thanksgiving was an amazing success!! We ended up with 10 people and our food came out great! Mi abuelo ended up surprising us by coming.

The turkey came out delicious. Although, I never realized before that the turkey is really the easiest part of the whole meal 🙂 It was huge and perfectly tender and moist…and we gave half of it to my parents to take home with them afterwards, lol.

The sweet potatoes were roasted in the oven, then mashed together with some eggs, brown sugar, kosher salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and fresh black pepper.  A few pecans on top, and then some time baked in the oven made what turned out to be the most delicious dish of the night, in my opinion.

My buttery sage crescent rolls were a big hit too! They came out perfectly. In fact, people asked if they were Pillsbury, and I scoffed because, nope, they were made from scratch with yeast and everything! 🙂

We mixed our leftover Adirondack Red potatoes with our Red Chieftain ‘taters to make PINK mashed potatoes!

The brussel sprouts came out wonderfully! Cutting, peeling and blanching them the day before made them so easy to make on Thursday.  I just fried up pieces of bacon and then sauteed the brussel sprouts and it was delish.

I didn’t get any pics of the carrots, but everyone commented how good they were.  They were the only thing directly from OUR garden so I was very proud.  In fact, my MIL said that they reminded her of the carrots she used to eat back in Germany when she was growing up.

We also had stuffing that my MIL made that was absolutely delicious but I forgot to take a picture.

For dessert, we had the pumpkin pie, a chocolate/coffee cheesecake my MIL made, and berry tarts that my sister made.  Wow, I was very selfish with the camera and apparently only took pics of my stuff. Oops!

But it was a wonderful day, spent talking, laughing with family, and of course, watching football.

 

3 Responses

  1. I love when people compliment my food. You did an awesome job and it looks amazing.

  2. Congrats!

  3. […] he’s refined it to use what we have locally. It is SO good. K first made this recipe for our wholly local Thanksgiving dinner in 2009 and it was a […]

Leave a Reply

