The Good Life

I recently learned there was a British TV show in the 1970s centered around “urban” homesteading.

This has tickled me pink (yes, I’m a 90-year-old grandma that uses phrases like this) to no end.  First, because I’m a total anglophile, and second because the show takes place in the time period of England I’m sorta familiar with.

It ran from 1975-1978, so it finished its run only 2 years before we moved there.  Oh man, the memories…

Ok, yea, that’s not what this post was about, oops.

On Tom Good’s (the main character’s) 40th birthday, he decides to leave the rat race of daily living (job, home, job, home) and become self-sufficient along with his housewife Barbara.  They turn their yard (in the middle of a nice suburban neighborhood) into a farm, growing their own crops, bring home goats, pigs and chickens, and even convert methane into electricity.

From the BBC:

Tom and Barbara would just be lone loons were it not for their neighbours, the henpecked Jerry Leadbetter and wife Margot, a social climber who cannot bear chickens wandering the back[yard].

The Good Life attacked the middle class and the ‘alternative’ lifestyle at once, showing Margot’s snobbishness as blindness, and Tom’s fanatical self-sufficiency as going too far.

Tom and Barbara

They are a lot more die-hard than I would ever be.  They even cobble their own shoes using rubber from Tom’s wetsuit!

It’s a really cute show (and Barbara, the wife, is “pinch her cheeks” adorable) and sorta awesome to see this “alternative lifestyle” in effect almost 35 years ago.  K and I are watching an episode a night on Netflix, though I saw today you can apparently watch it online here for free.

I have to admit, I have no desire to go as crazy as these two did in my quest for self-sufficiency.  I do, however, wish I could trade a couple of eggs for little things I wanted.  Unfortunately, I don’t think my local bookstore owner would go for that.  Besides, something that cost 2 eggs in the 1970s…what’s the cost of egg-flation nowadays?

Ok, on that note, I’m taking myself to bed. 🙂

One Response

  1. So cool. I just added this to netflix for something else to watch.

Leave a Reply

