It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

I don’t think I ever took a pic of our Christmas Tree, after we cut it down a few weeks ago.  Here it is, sans flash. I’m still trying to figure out how to take manual pics – I’m so used to point-and-shoot cameras!

We try to collect (beyond the “filler” ball ornaments) ornaments with special meaning to us.  There’s no “theme” to our tree – it’s just a haphazard collection of ornaments over the past few years.  I can’t wait to look back at my tree in 30 years and see memory after memory.

A few of my favorite ornaments:

I love this ornament because it reminds me of all the canning and food preservation I do in the kitchen! Sure, I guess it’s really for a baker, but since I can’t find a canning ornament – this’ll do!

Our Lenox wedding ornament.

Such a cute ornament from when we moved into our condo.

My husband’s favorite ornament that I bought him last year.  A little blurry bu it spells out “Joy” in binary code, and then there’s “…to the world” underneath.  Perfect gift for my geeky engineer!

Do you have a favorite ornament?  Describe it to me!

2 Responses

  1. I tried to take pictures of my favorite last night but my camera wasn’t cooperating too well.

    I have a few favorites. One is a mouse in a stocking that I asked for off my grandparents tree when I was 4. I said “but it has the cutest little face, just like mine.” Oh I was a treasure.

    Another favorite is one I made in first grade that’s a perfectly melted plastic holiday cup strung up with green dental floss.

    Joe has a really cute little swimmer guy with a towel that has his name on it and a bell-type thing.

    Our trees never have themes. I think it’s better that way. 🙂

  2. You ask an impossible question. I suppose if I had to pick I’d go with our ornament from Budweiser in St. Louis (photo on Flickr).

    It was our first Christmas together & DH’s first time meeting my family. It sort of reminds me of a beer stein but mostly it reminds me that I had faith that this wasn’t going to be our only Christmas together.

    & ITA that themeless Christmas trees really are the best.

Leave a Reply

