Fake It Till You Make It

Thanks for the comments about continuing my blog, guys.  I don’t know if it’s the weather or what….but I’m certainly under it.  Get it? Under the weather?  Yea….never mind, lol.

So the past few days I’ve been reading all these great blog entries from my friends and other people about their excitement for the new year and great resolutions (formal or not) about things they’re going to change this year, or accomplish, and I’m just feeling bleh.  I’m very happy 2009 is over but somehow I can’t get into the spirit of 2010 yet.  I don’t like doing “general” resolutions – like “lose weight” or “get happier” because there’s no way to measure that – and I’m into performance metrics. 🙂

But I don’t want to let the “new year” get away from me.  I do like the idea of getting to start “anew” each year.  So because I can’t really get with it, I’m gonna fake it till I make it.  Here are some of my concrete ideas for things to actually do this year:

CHELLE’S 2010 TO-DO LIST

1.  Read the remaining hard cover books I own that I haven’t read before any more Kindle books.

I’m an compulsive reader, which is why the Kindle was such a great gift for me.  I can read 1/2 a dozen books all at the same time, without a problem but it means that I don’t get through them that quickly. In fact, I’ve been halfway through some of these books for years!  Sure, in that time, I’ve started and finished lots of other books, but the fact remains that these are unfinished.  So, this year, they need to get done.

Here are the 6 books I have left –

  • Life of Pi -given to me by my SIL after my surgery this summer
  • Peter the Great – a book I was supposed to read for my teaching history class 2 years ago
  • The Puerto Ricans: A Documentary History – a book I was supposed to read in college and never finished (10 years ago!)
  • Water for Elephants – a Christmas present from my SIL for my teaching history class 2 Christmases ago
  • A History of Wales – A book I first started reading when I started my first law job 5 years ago
  • The Tainos – a Christmas gift TO my dad last year that I decided last week I wanted to read

Quite a varied lot, huh?  Yea, I’m weird.

2. No reading while I eat.

This is probably going to be the hardest “resolution” for me to keep.  I love reading anytime, anywhere I can. I’ve been reading while I eat since I can remember!  But I find that I’m not really noticing what I eat because of my reading, and it means I’m eating more because of it.  That needs to stop.

3. Lose 5% of my weight.

There is a specific number attached to this, but I’m not sharing here.  It’s a good start but definitely just a start for what I need to lose.  But there’s so much going on in my life right now that I can’t commit to more.  However, just like other projects in my life, I need to get started on this project.  To that end, I started pilates tonight and got back on the wagon today.  It’s so much harder than it was a few years ago, but hopefully I can keep this up.

4. Finish my wedding cross-stitch.

Anyone remember that cross-stitch I was working on finishing before my surgery?  Yea, haven’t done too much since then.  But I’ve got to get it done before my 3rd wedding anniversary!

Unfinished cross-stitching

5. Learn my sewing machine

My MIL gave me K’s late aunt’s sewing machine last year since it had been sitting in their attic since she died.  It’s in perfect condition, if 20 years old, and has ever accessory I need.  I’ve actually broken it out in the last week and started learning how to use it! I want to be able to use it easily this year and finish this quilt I started sewing by hand years ago.

6. Get my house organized

This isn’t very concrete I admit.  But basically I want to get all of the closets in my house cleaned out, and organized with shelving, things donated or put away, etc.

None of these are incredibly profound.  But they’re projects for me to get focused on, and hopefully will keep me going until I can get excited about…something.

4 Responses

  1. Chelle those are great goals. I have so many books that I haven’t read. I need to tell myself no new purchases until I finish the ones I have.

  2. 6 mostly measurable goals. Well done.

    Quarterly reports/ check in/ status updates/blog posts?

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? – Thanks P.S

    • Hmm…I’m sorry, I don’t know why that is happening. Is there an option to not be notified anymore in the emails you receive?

Leave a Reply

