Farmers Market Sunday

My bag held up at the market today!

It seems as if the market gets more and more vendors every week.  It’s really great that it’s doing so well, especially in the middle of winter!

Today’s loot:

  • 1 loaf Rustic Italian bread, 1 cheese danish, 1 apricot rugalach, 1 chocolate raspberry rugalach from Our Daily Bread.
  • 1/2 gallon of apple cider and 6 apples (3 Empire, 3 Jonagold) from Migliorelli Farm.
  • 1 quart of cream, 1 quart of reduced-fat milk, 1 pint of chocolate milk from Battenkill Creamery
  • 1/4 lb fresh spinach from Madura Farm
  • 1lb ground beef and 1lb stew beef from Sweet Tree Farm
  • 1 cup plain yogurt from R & G cheese

It’s the beginning of February and we’re out of veggies. Sure we’ve been supplementing our stash of mostly carrots for awhile now, but now we’ve got nothing.  And it’ll be another 6 months before we get more.

So we’re back to shopping for veggies at the supermarket.  It really, really bums me out.  But it’s a lesson learned for the coming year, how much more we need to preserve – either by pressure canning or freezing (more likely freezing if we get to buy a freezer chest).

We’ve got about half a braid of onions (out of the two we started with) left hanging in the storage closet – they are still really fresh and have lasted a long time! I was so thrilled about planting 44 onions last spring, thinking that was a ton, and they’re almost all gone.  We really need to plant twice as many (close to 100) to get through an entire year, but now we know they’ll last!

As for jam, I don’t think we’ll need to make any this year 🙂 We still have tons! I still want to pick some fruit, so I’ll have to find other things to do with it.

We are at the beginnings of self-sufficiency, but we learned so much last year and will just use it going forward.  I really just wish sometimes I had all day to spend at home. Do you know how much I would do?  Even if I just had a few more hours a day…

7 Responses

  1. Yeah for the bag holding up. Chelle you are my hero for good home food. I’m hoping to have a mini garden this year following your example.

  2. You’re so lucky to have a market that’s open this time of year. Ours only runs May-October and I miss it so much right now.

    • Yea, I don’t know why we have full year markets but I’m so grateful! We’re missing a lot of things in the little area of the state but this is one thing we’ve got!

  3. I wish we had an all year market as well. :/ Bummer.

  4. I’m so jealous of your garden! Any extras you want to ship to Texas would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    Around here by midsummer it’s just so hard to keep everything watered enough. Zucchini grew like gangbusters until July for us but then we had water restrictions and I couldn’t water it enough.

    • Haha, I’ll let you know sometime in August, Jen! Unfortunately, being so far north, it’ll take that long till I know if I’m successful or not!

      It’s definitely tough with water restrictions. Maybe you could find local heirloom varieties – I bet they require less water because those would be used to your heat!

Leave a Reply

