Farmers Market Sunday 3/7

Oh, it’s  another Sunday and we’re back at the farmer’s market.  It was GORGEOUS today – in the low 40’s, sunny, and you could just tell that SPRING IS COMING!!  The mere thought makes me want to dance with joy.  The winter just really depresses me, I’m not sure why.  Today I had a hankering to ride my bike to the farmer’s market but K talked reason to me and convinced me it would really be hard to pedal back with a 30lb bag of cat litter (from Checkerhills Farm, where we needed to go after the market) on my back.  Oh, who am I kidding, he would have been the one to carry it. 🙂

So today at the market, we bought:

  • 1 half-gallon and 1 quart of reduced-fat milk, and 1 pint of chocolate milk from Battenkill Creamery
  • 1 loaf of Rustic Italian bread from Our Daily Bread
  • 1/2lb of turnip greens from Barber Farm
  • 1 dozen eggs from Coopers Ark Farm
  • 1 large carrot (there’s a reason only one!) and a bag of 10lbs of onions from Madura Farm
  • 1 20oz. bag of muesli cereal from Mu Mu Muesli

And two bakery items that tried to hide away from me:

Both from Our Daily Bread:

  • 1 sticky bun
  • 1 croissant

Of course, we enjoyed these with our weekly treat of fresh chocolate milk.  K made an egg and cheese croissant with his, and I, per usual, reveled in the sugar of the whole wheat sticky bun.

We get weekly emails from our pal Phil Metzger over at Coopers Ark and they’re quite entertaining.  He has emus (that I posted about last year in the summer market) that he’s been waiting for eggs from all winter, I think. I really don’t know about the laying season of emus, but I guess it must be coming to an end soon and they have still to lay an egg.  He sells those eggs for $15/egg (I mean, they’re really huge, similar to ostrich eggs!) so he is very disappointed that not one has come yet. I asked him today what will happen to the emus if they don’t lay in time, and he dragged his finger across his neck to indicate they were done for.  Before I could ask him how much emu meat goes for (gasping in my head at the same time) he smiled and said they would be kept around for the kids who visit the farm, because they’re so friendly and fun.  Phew!

Speaking with the ladies from Barber Farm about the turnip greens convinced us to try some.  They said the turnips they have now are so small, they’re not worth picking to sell, so they picked the greens instead.  She gave some to us to try, and they’re a bit peppery but yummy.  She said to lightly saute them like spinach (and you know how I LOVE spinach) but only very very briefly, they are so delicate and fresh you can overdo it very easily and they’ll wilt away to nothing if you’re not careful.  So, we’ll try this this week!

And then there’s the cereal.  The Mu Mu Muesli table is right next to Battenkill Creamery’s at the farmer’s market, so we pass it every week. It’s always bustling, so we decided to try some today after being given a sample with maple yogurt. It was pretty good.

This apparently won some award in vegetarian magazine recently.  Good for them!

Ingredient list:

  • whole grain rolled oats,
  • wheat flakes
  • organic dates
  • unsulphured cranberries
  • unsulphured organic coconut
  • roasted almonds
  • raisins
  • flaxseeds

No added sugar!

This all looks great, but I’m thinking if we end up loving this, it’s something we could easily make ourselves.  I’m sure all these ingredients could be found at the co-op.  But I guess that’s half the point, and similar to the laundry soap I make and often think about selling: sure, people can make it themselves, but they don’t have the time and are willing to pay for it to be made up for them.

Tonight on the menu I’m using the first of the meat from 8 O’clock Ranch and making Shepherd’s pie!  I’ve just finished making the most delicious mashed potatoes with the Red Chieftains we got from Barber a couple of weeks ago, my own butter, and leftover cream from Battenkill Creamery.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

One Response

  1. I totally agree with you on the museli. I could totally make it myself from ingredients at the market but I’m too busy to do so and will gladly pay 🙂

Leave a Reply

