Back to the Garden: The Beginning

Sunday afternoon was so nice outside, I really wanted to get into the garden and see how it was looking.  In my head, I imagined all the snow was gone and the ground was green and just begging to be planted.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I mean, sure, we got 15 inches of snow last week, but the ensuing days of 40+F degree temps have melted most of it.  I had high hopes.

‘Twas not to be, however.  Not only did we see the snow still covered the ground, we made this disturbing discovery.

Our plot is at the front of the garden, and the closest one to the street.  It appears that the salt spreaders do a CRAPPY job of spreading the snow, and it somehow gets pushed/blown/whatever, into our plot. The result?  Dirty, icy snow, compared to the beautiful pristine whiteness of Lev’s plot.  You can see the difference between the snow on the two plots here.

K is worried about whether the salt/chemicals will affect our dirt and/or growing capabilities.  I don’t think it would affect it anymore than last year. After all, salt gets spread every winter, right?  We didn’t notice this last year though.

Our coldframe is still there, and still unbroken.  It looks like some hoodlums tried to break it though, and failed.

Inside, the ground is soaking wet, but there’s still some more spinach plants (tiny) in there!  It looks like they are the same size they were last November.  Hopefully with the warmer weather coming they will get nice and big now!

So, while we were there, we decided to measure our “new” double plot.  Well, only half of it is new.  It turned out to be 55′ x19′ – over 1000 square feet!

I’ve got to get myself some graph paper and redraw the beds.  Only about a month till the planting begins!

4 Responses

  1. I love reading about your garden plans 🙂

    I’m going to try and clear out a (small) space in my backyard for a garden this summer

  2. You and I need to have a gardening chat since it looks like we are going to have a community garden patch in our town this year. Yeah!

Leave a Reply

