Saying Goodbye to Thacher Park

I grew up in this state, the State of New York, and felt really proud for it much of my life. But the latest antics of our unelected governor (brought to us in the wake of the Spitzer scandal) and the state legislature, who is now more than a month and a half late in putting together a budget, has really made me disappointed in it.

There are a lot of hardships being felt due to the late budget.  Postponed tax returns, school payments being pushed out, possible furloughs for state workers; all of this is really shameful and due to the ineptitude of a few people to work together to get a budget done.  But one of the worst things, in my opinion, is the shuttering of dozens of state parks.

I mean, summer is coming up, the height of the season to get out of the “city,” away from the fumes and noise, and a cheap excursion for some people.  This year, there will be no barbecues, no hikes along the escarpment, no Indian Ladder Trail.

Look at some of these photos I look last year in the fall.  How gorgeous is this place?

Absolutely gorgeous.

Today was the final day of the park being open.  It was sunny and blue and breezy, and K and I had to take one final walk in it.  The escarpment was PACKED, a protest and state troopers on one side, and people visiting for the same reasons as my husband and I on the other. If I’d had my choice, I’d have done the Indian Ladder trail, but it’s closed until Memorial Day normally (so in this instance, it will not open again) and I couldn’t.

I really thought we’d be seeing people every few feet on the trails, so K and I headed to the inland trails and hit up the red one, a 1.5 mile easy loop with some additions to it, to make it a bit more than 2 miles total. I’d never done this trail, but it hit the spot for a beautiful, easy day.

A pictorial of our hike today:

Ladyslippers

K on his way down the waterfall

K down in the ravine

Note to my state representatives:  I’m really mad at you, and I plan to take it out on you in November.

One Response

  1. It’s a downright shame that yall won’t be able to enjoy the beauty of your state parks this summer. :-/ I’m glad that you were at least able to enjoy the park today.

Leave a Reply

