Apricot Sorbet

This week marked the last of the apricots at the Farmer’s Market for the season.  So sad!  This was the year that I learned how much I love apricots, as it was the first time I’d ever eaten them in fresh form (Everyone’s had dried apricots, right?).  Given that it was the end of the season, I knew they would most likely be past the height of sweetness and just getting to that overripe flavor.  What to do with delicious fruit like that? Make sorbet of course!

Like many people, my husband and I were gifted a Kitchen Aid mixer when we got married.  I bought the ice cream attachment as a gift for my hubby, some birthday/Christmas/something present ago.  While we use the KA mixer for everything (butter, hello!) the ice cream maker attachment isn’t used nearly enough. We’ve got to remedy that.

Making sorbet is so so easy.  Ingredients needed?

  • 2lbs apricots (10-15)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Full disclosure here, the day before I went to make this, I realized I only had about 1lb of apricots.  So K went to the supermarket and bought me a couple more apricots which I worked in with the farmer’s market ones.  Can you tell the difference?

IMG_2601.JPG

Honeycot is a brand of apricot (like Chiquita banana) that is incomparable to a true apricot.  The one from the farmer’s market is markedly smaller, but has a brighter orange color and tastes so much better. SO MUCH BETTER.  The Honeycot was bland, no doubt as a result of being picked unripe half a world a way and shipped to my supermarket.  Blecch!

Luckily, I only needed to use 2, as I decided to cut the recipe in half.

I split the apricots in half as well, taking out the pits, and cutting each half into thirds.  Dropping them into a saucepan, I added the water and left them to cook through on medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

IMG_2584.JPG

Once they were cooked through, I turned off the heat, and added the sugar, stirring to dissolve and mix.  I left it to cool to almost room temperature.

IMG_2586.JPG

Once it cooled, I pureed the mixture in my blender until completely smooth, then added the vanilla extract and stirred it in.  Here, I made a mistake. I had cut the recipe in half, but put in the vanilla extract meant for the whole recipe! Luckily, it didn’t hurt the taste at all.

IMG_2587.JPG

I put the blender, covered, in the fridge overnight to chill.

IMG_2589.jpg

The next day, I poured the chilled mixture into the Kitchen Aid Ice Cream Maker, and set it on to stir.

IMG_2599.JPG

In about 20 minutes, I had sorbet!

IMG_2597.JPG

Sorbet that was melting fast.  I transfered it quickly to an air tight container so we can enjoy it for the rest of the week.

IMG_2603.JPG

A small dish to enjoy tonight.

The full amount of this recipe makes a LOT of sorbet!  Even the half-recipe I made gave us almost 4 cups of sorbet.  Make at your own risk, but I’m sure you’ll find the ability to eat it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

