Edamame

Last weekend at the farmer’s market, my eye fell upon something new.  Edamame! K and I love this as an appetizer at Japanese restaurants and the realization that we could get this locally made us really excited.

Edamame are immature, edible soybeans harvested when about 80% ripe.  They’re so easy to prepare, and so fresh-tasting with the salty flavor dancing on your tongue, you’ll love them if you can find them at the farmer’s market.  You can find them frozen in most grocery stores now too, but what’s the fun in that?

Our beans came on the vine but a big bunch of it only cost $2.50, a good deal for something I can’t get easily for myself locally.  K pulled off the beans and boiled them in salted water for 3 minutes, then drained them and sprinkled more salt.

We popped the little pods of goodness into our mouths and enjoyed the salty flavor painted on the pods as they burst onto our tongues.  You really can’t go wrong.

2 Responses

  1. Oh – so I must admit – though not pertaining towards this particular post – I am absolutely obsessed with your blog. You have the same mind set as I do, and it’s a relief ot see someone who feels the same! That’s how I came to cooking (I have a cooking blog) because I absolutely loved the Little House books and knew that I wanted to make everything from scratch…not just buy it.

    There is a bit of difficulty doing this though – especially where I am now. I grew up in Pennsylvania – where, much like upstate New York, farm land is abundant. Now, I live in North Carolina… where there is nothing! I have to drive almost 2 hours just to pick pumpkins!… and I don’t even know where to find an apple orchard.

    So, anyway – after school (so approximately 4 more years) I’m going to be living in upstate New York (I like the lake areas… so it beats out Pennsylvania) and I guess my question is : are you familiar with many areas so you could help me in decided where is a great place to live? I like cities – but not big. Just enough so there’s stuff to do – but I love farms. I grew up surrounded.

    Well – if you could help me out, that’d be SO great. And I really really love your site. I read the entire thing (from the beginning) in the past 3 days!

    • Thanks! Glad you like the blog! Of course I’m partial to the Capital District area of NY. I think it’s definitely one of the better upstate “metro” areas. Tons of farms around but also enough “civilization” to keep you going. 🙂

Leave a Reply

