Green All-Purpose Spray Cleaner

I take great pride in the fact that K and I haven’t used commercially prepared cleaners and detergents in over a year, with the exception of dishwasher detergent.  I’ve yet to find a homemade version that works well, and so we usually buy 7th Generation or Ecover for that. (We do use a vinegar rinse instead of Jet Dry).

One of the best green “recipes” I have found for an all-purpose spray is also one of the easiest.

Into a clean spray bottle:

  • 2 cups hot water
  • 1/2 tsp of washing soda
  • dab of liquid soap.

Combine and shake.

So easy!  It does a really great job of cleaning up every day messes, and as I use washing soda in my laundry detergent, I always have everything on hand.

But I recently decided to look for an even better all purpose spray to cut grease as well as germs.  I found this.

Gorgeously Green All-Purpose Spray

from Sophie Uliano, author of Gorgeously Green: 8 Simple Steps to an Earth-Friendly Life


Into a 32-ounce spray bottle:

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon pure castile soap
  • 3/4 cup hydrogen peroxide
  • 20 drops tea tree oil
  • 20 drops of lavender
Combine and shake.
Amazingly, I had all the ingredients on hand for this spray. I guess I’ve gone more green than I thought! The combination of tea tree, lavender and peppermint oils create a really “clean” smelling spray, I was pleasantly surprised.
Even though buying the ingredients initially might add up a bit, over the long haul, this spray is better for the environment and your wallet.  Although a bottle of essential oil runs ~$5, the number of bottles of spray (plus numerous other uses for the oils) will definitely pay you back.
Try it!
2 Responses

  1. I tend to use straight white vinegar to clean with. At first the smell is very strong but you become used to it quickly and once it dries there is no smell at all!

  2. I really like Clean+Green products. I’ve been using them for a little less than a year and they’re really great. I like that they’re safe around my pets and don’t give off all the awful noxious fumes.

    I’m actually doing a giveaway on my blog right now, so if anyone is interested in trying Clean+Green check it out: http://madpets.blogspot.com/2010/10/cleangreen-dog-cat-carpet-upholstery.html

    Thanks for the recipe! I may have to give this a shot.

Leave a Reply

