The Bears

A few months ago, I learned about The Bears from work friend who’s husband was a college roommate with the son of the owner (or some such relationship).  It’s a steak restaurant in Duanesburg that got started out of the owner’s own house!  Pretty cool, I thought.  Another work friend turned out to have gone there as well, and with both of their rave reviews I knew I wanted to go there for my birthday.

The Bears don’t have to advertise for themselves; their number is unlisted (although easily found by now if you Google on the ‘net – there are way too many reviews out there!).  There are two seatings per night – and it’s only open Wednesday through Saturday.  Making a reservation in advance is definitely necessary; K was told he needed to order either the Chateaubriand or the Prime Rib by Wednesday for our Friday dinner.

Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my camera, and the place was pretty dark inside – you’re in for some VERY dark and fuzzy iPhone photos.

We started off with a delightful locally made appetizer.  Fresh, HOMEMADE mozzarella with tomatoes and roasted red peppers.  I was surprised that we also go a few slices of apple thrown in there as well. The mozzarella was delicious, and the tomato was obviously local (probably homegrown), it was juicy and full of flavor, unlike most restaurant tomatoes.  It also had a ton of onion and garlic that I loved, but it was too overpowering for K.

After the appetizer, we got our second course. I ordered the soup of the day – a chicken broth with veggies and homemade sausage.  K ordered the salad.  I don’t normally order non-cream based soups but I had to try something made with homemade sausage! K’s salad looked typical of restaurant house salads, but my soup was one of the most delicious soups I’ve ever tasted!

K ordered us a terrific bottle of wine to have with the meal.  I normally only like sickeningly sweet wines, but this Pinot Noir was delicious – and not sweet.

It wasn’t local, but we really loved this about it:

Carbon-neutral, solar-powered and sustainably farmed.  Yes, please!

Since we had ordered the Chateaubriand in advance, there was no need to hem and haw over their menu.  As soon as we were done with our second course, our server, John, brought out this huge platter.

Even with this poor quality photo, you must be able to tell it’s deliciousness.  Man, and it was huge.

Even with a great cut of meat, I admit I’m a sauce-person.  So despite K’s disapproving glance at me, I requested steak sauce.  Luckily, our server said he was the same way. He disappeared into the kitchen and brought me some au jus. John is the owner’s son, and he told us that he was the one that made the Chateaubriand for us (and this delicious juice).  It was fantastic. I dipped away to my heart’s content.

After the meal was over, John told us that every single dessert there is homemade.  Now, granted, there’s nothing super complicated, but he listed so many different cakes and pies that I was mind-boggled.  He told me their carrot cake would be the best thing I ever tasted, so for that alone I decided to try it, even though I don’t normally think carrot cake is anything special. K decided to try the coconut cream pie, which John said was their best-selling dessert.

Oh my. So. Good.  And K’s coconut cream pie was even better I think.

Such a good meal, and definitely one of the best I’ve ever had.  It’s pricey, but for a special occasion, so worth it. K and I had enough for two more meals each!

The Bears is located on Rt. 7 in Duanesburg, NY (there’s no street number, but you can’t miss it if you follow Rt. 7).  To make a reservation, call 518-895-2509.

 

Leave a comment